Caring Committees

We are here to help whether it is preparing meals for the families of new babies, or people who are ill; being there to provide support and friendship to those who are isolated; or being on hand for rituals upon dying and helping members set up Shiva when they have experienced a loss. We are here to engage our communities, to help each other as needs arise, and to do so together. Whether you want to help, or need services, contact us at caring@ansheemet.org.

View our Volunteer Training Video

Chesed Opportunities

Volunteer Opportunity Volunteer Activity; Time Commitment Age Restrictions Contact
Bikur Cholim Visiting the sick; Involves being informed when there
is a need and you may participate based upon your availability
18 and older Julie Ann Sklaver at aesbcteam@gmail.com
Chevra Kadisha
Click here to learn more.
Lakeview Funeral Home
1458 W. Belmont
Chicago, IL 60657 Chicago
Jewish Funerals
8851 Skokie Boulevard
Skokie, IL 60077
Service group comprised of men and women who perform the pre-burial preparations of a Jewish body; Involves being informed when there is a need and you may participate based upon your availability 18 and older Barry Gross at bbgross39@gmail.com
312-988-4010
or
Merle Gross at
merlekgross@gmail.com
312-988-4010
Friedman Place 
5527 N. Maplewood
Chicago, IL 60625
Various opportunities; As often as you’d prefer Age 16 and older, unless accompanied by an adult Beth Elman at beth@friedmanplace.org
New Baby Meals Cook a meal when a new baby is born; As often as you’d prefer N/A Jessica Bearak at jbearak18@gmail.com
Self Help Home 
908 W. Argyle St.
Chicago, IL 60640
Various opportunities; As often as you’d prefer All ages Paulette Freed at paulettefreed@gmail.com
Shiva Committee  Help prepare homes for Shiva,
help serve food at Shiva, cook a
meal for the immediate family; Involves being available upon short notice
16 and older Dianne Tesler at d.tesler@sbcglobal.net

 

For support, we are here to help.

For a consultation with
Rabbi Michael Siegel
contact Antoinette Nuñez at
anunez@ansheemet.org / 773.868.5120

For a consultation with Rabbi David Russo
or Rabbi D’ror Chankin-Gould
contact Tamar Brooks at
tbrooks@ansheemet.org / 773.868.5125